I aten’t dead

Yes, I went quiet for a LONG time. Mr The Digger has been working very hard which has meant that I’ve been doing a lot of parenting (and still a lot of gardening). So not much time for computering.

Because he’s been away a lot, I’ve been trying to keep busy. I’ve been to see my ma a couple of times. The last time I went to visit, it was a beautiful sunny day and I couldn’t resist taking a few photos. She said it was OK to do a blog post about it, providing I don’t tell you where she lives because you might go round and nick her Gertrude Jekylls.

So this is her garden. She started with a pretty much blank canvas 6 years ago. When she moved in there were no beds or borders. There was a lawn, a couple of shrubs, and an 8ft thick leylandii hedge. The hedge is gone, some of the shrubs have been resurrected and my mum has been hard at work. Quite a few of the plants are the same as in my garden. Where do you think I get all my plants from? But I do give some back as well, don’t worry. You may see other similarities because my mum has been the main influence on my gardening style. I’m forever asking her what she thinks of my plans. Wouldn’t you? She totally knows what she’s doing, just look.

mumyellowborder

The yellow border.

 

mumrose

I can’t remember what this rose is called and I keep forgetting to ask my mum. *EDIT* My mum says it’s a David Austin called Lady of Shallot and she also says thanks to everyone for the kind comments about her garden.

 

mumpinkborder

Pink and blue bed with those gorgeous Gertrude Jekyll roses.

 

mumfoxglove

The garden backs on to a field and there’s a hedgerow with plenty of native plants. Yay foxgloves!

 

mumfoxglove2

Love love love this foxglove. White with just a touch of pink.

 

mumwillow

Willow arbor with seating. Not that my mum does a lot of sitting; she’s too busy gardening.

 

mumgeranium

OMG BLUE GERANIUM.

 

mumbee

Bees love my mum’s garden too. She gardens organic and puts plenty in to attract wildlife.

 

mumnigella

I love it when you get random pink nigella.

 

mumtriffid

My mum’s garden is BIG, which means she can grow whoppers like this Onopordum acanthium.

 

mumphlomis

And this beautiful Phlomis, which proved a bit too large for my titchy garden.

 

mumlupin

My mum can grow lupins. I am well jel.

Anyway, I have been doing some actual gardening and I’ve even taken photos so I will get cracking with some garden and allotment updates.

 

5 thoughts on “I aten’t dead

  1. Lovely garden. How funny that we both just did postings in tribute to our mums gardens! I also get all of my plants from mum, so mine is like a mini version of hers too. It’s also nice to have an expert to hand!

Leave a comment